No Banner to display

Facebook is expanding the like button to include love, haha, wow, sad and angry options [pic]
Posted by on Jan 28th, 2016

It’s been in the pipeline for ages and most people have at some point wished they could express more than just hitting the ‘like’ button on Facebook. Many have suggested that Facebook add a ‘dislike’ button, but the social network has so far resisted the pressure to introduce that option. Instead they are soon planning to add several new ways you can interact with a post by giving users the choice to mark it as ‘love, haha, wow, sad, and angry’. The new options are apparently being released in the next few weeks.

facebook reactions


The options are called Facebook Reactions.

“Facebook Reactions won’t get rid of like—it will be an extension. Within the company, there was some debate on how to add the options without making every post look crowded with things to click. The simpler Facebook is to use, the more people will use it. Zuckerberg had a solution: Just display the usual thumbs-up button under each post, but if someone on her smartphone presses down on it a little longer, the other options will reveal themselves. Cox’s team went with that and added animation to clarify their meaning, making the yellow emojis bounce and change expression. The angry one turns red, looking downward in rage, for example. Once people click their responses, the posts in News Feed show a tally of how many wows, hahas, and loves each generated.” [Bloomberg]

Now you know.

No Comments have been left.

Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave a comment